Boot Robot Using Robot Tools

Description

Robot Tools is a pre-boot tool for managing robot images and the data on the robot.

Robot Tools can only use a USB drive to manage robot images. Other types of storage media are not supported.

 

You can use Robot Tools to install a robot image, create or restore a clone of the robot disk, or erase the robot disk.

Install, restore, and erase operations overwrite data on the robot disk. Back up any data that you want to keep before you continue.

  • Robot images are only supported on USB drives of 32 GB and larger.

  • You cannot create your own USB drive with Robot Tools. You must obtain it from Universal Robots Service, a Universal Robots integrator, or your Universal Robots contact person.

  • Do not keep URUP files on the USB drive with Robot Tools. Keep your robot images on the USB drive with Robot Tools, and keep URUP files on a USB drive that you created yourself.

  • Robot Tools is only supported on Control Boxes with an internal disk.

 

Install without a Teach Pendant

Robot Tools can install PolyScope X without a Teach Pendant (TP7). If no Teach Pendant is attached to the Control Box and the storage on the Control Box is blank, you can use Robot Tools to install PolyScope X.

 

Make sure that the storage is blank.

  1. Insert the USB drive with Robot Tools into the Control Box.

  2. Start the Control box.

  3. Wait until the Control Box shuts down.

PolyScope X is now installed.

 

Start the robot with Robot Tools

To start Robot Tools:

  1. Turn off the robot.

  2. Insert the USB drive into the Control Box.

  3. Turn on the robot.

  4. Wait until the Robot Tools main screen appears.

    Robot Tools Main Screen

Main screen
  • Install Robot: Install a compatible robot image from the USB drive. Installing an image overwrites the robot disk.

  • Clone Robot: Save a clone of the robot disk to the USB drive.

  • Restore Robot: Restore a clone from the USB drive to the robot disk. Restoring a clone overwrites the robot disk.

  • Erase Robot: Erase all data from the robot disk.

  • About: View the Robot Tools version and the Open Source Software Licenses.

Do not remove the USB drive or turn off the robot while an operation is in progress.

 

 

Install Robot

Description

Use Install Robot to install a compatible robot image from the data partition of the USB drive.

Insert the USB drive into the Control Box, then start Robot Tools.

When you copy a robot image from your PC to the USB drive, you do not need to modify the image file.

Installing a new image overwrites all data on the robot.

Install Image Screen

 

Install Image
  1. On the main screen, select Install Robot.

  2. Under Select an image to install on the robot, open the drop-down menu and select the image that you want to install.

  3. Select Start Installation.

  4. If prompted, confirm that you want to overwrite the robot disk.

  5. Wait until the installation is complete. You cannot cancel the installation after it starts.

  6. When the installation is complete, remove the USB drive.

  7. Select Restart.

    Successful Installation Screen

Before the installation starts, select Cancel to return to the main screen without changing the robot disk.

 

Automatic installation

If the robot disk is blank and the USB drive contains one compatible robot image, the installation screen can open automatically and display a countdown. Select Start Installation to start immediately, or select Cancel to stop the countdown and return to the main screen.

 

The USB drive with Robot Tools contains a file named autoinstall.

In this file, you can configure which image to install first during an automatic installation. This also works when the USB drive contains more than one image.

If you delete the autoinstall file, automatic installation does not work.

Automatic Robot Installation

 

For a comprehensive guide to using Robot Tools in PolyScope X, see Robot Tools.

 

 

Clone Robot

Description

Use Clone Robot to create an image of the robot's internal storage on the data partition of the USB drive. You can use this image to restore the robot to the saved state.

Make sure that the USB drive has enough free space for the clone. Do not remove the USB drive while cloning is in progress.

Clone Robot Screen

 

Clone Robot
  1. On the main screen, select Clone Robot.

  2. In the Filename field, enter a name for the clone image.

  3. Select Clone.

  4. If a clone image with the same filename already exists, confirm that you want to overwrite it.

  5. Wait until the clone operation is complete. You cannot cancel the operation after it starts.

  6. When the operation is complete, return to the main screen.

Before cloning starts, select Cancel to return to the main screen without creating a clone.

A robot clone is intended for backup and recovery. Do not use Clone Robot to manage software across a fleet of robots.

 

Restore Robot

Description

Use Restore Robot to restore a clone image from the USB drive to the robot disk.

Restoring a clone overwrites the robot disk. All current data on the robot is lost.

Restore Clone Screen

 

Restore Robot
  1. On the main screen, select Restore Robot.

  2. Under Select a clone image from the USB drive, open the drop-down menu.

  3. Select the clone image that you want to restore.

  4. Select Restore.

  5. If prompted, confirm that you want to overwrite the robot disk.

  6. Wait until the restore operation is complete. You cannot cancel the operation after it starts.

  7. When the operation is complete, remove the USB drive and restart the robot.

Before restoring starts, select Cancel to return to the main screen without changing the robot disk.

 

 

Erase Robot

Description

Use Erase Robot to erase all data from the robot disk. Erase the disk when decommissioning the Control Box or before returning a compatible Control Box to removable-storage operation.

All data is erased. The robot cannot start from the robot disk after the erase operation.

Erase Robot Screen

 

Erase Robot
  1. On the main screen, select Erase Robot.

  2. Select Erase.

  3. If prompted, confirm that you want to erase the robot disk.

  4. Wait until the erase operation is complete. You cannot cancel the operation after it starts.

  5. When the operation is complete, return to the main screen or turn off the robot.

Before erasing starts, select Cancel to return to the main screen without changing the robot disk.

If you start the robot again with the USB drive inserted while the robot disk is blank, automatic installation may start.